Exlorist 600 won't communicate with PC

Ask questions about GPS Magellan equipment here.

Exlorist 600 won't communicate with PC

Postby Shack » Mon Jul 23, 2007 4:25 pm

Hi all I just bought a explorist 600. I'm new to gps and I wanted something for geocaching. My question is,when I try to use the usb file transfer my computer doesn't seem to recognise the unit. When you first plug in the usb cable it shows a new device and that it is working properly but the 600 doesn't see the computer and when I go to device manager the only entry is under universal serial bus controllers as an unknown device. This I believe is telling me that the drivers aren't loading. I've uninstalled and reinstalled unattached and reattached with the same results. I know it should show it as a usb storage but no go. anyone else have this problem or am I the only one. Any help would be appreciated Shack
Shack

Re: Exlorist 600 won't communicate with PC

Postby nsew45 » Wed Jul 25, 2007 3:27 pm

According to the manual:

1. Turn the eXplorist off.
2. First connect the PC interface cable to the connector on the back of the eXplorist.
3. Insert the USB connector on the PC interface cable to any of the USB ports on a personal computer.
4. Turn the eXplorist on. 5. You may get a message on your computer that a new USB device has been found.
6. If connected properly, the eXplorist will display the USB File Transfer screen, indicating that the eXplorist is in the file transfer mode.

If it isn't in the file transfer mode:
1. Press the "Menu" key.
2. Select Advanced Features
3. Select Communication
4. Select File Transfer

I don't see anything on the GPS to indicate it is successfully connected to the PC. However, the PC, when looking at the Windows Explorer (File Manager) will show a new drive. Also if you go to the Device Manager, look under Modems and it should show the Magellan. It won't show under com ports.
nsew45

Postby Shack » Wed Jul 25, 2007 6:49 pm