My explorist 500 wont turn on any more

Ask questions about GPS Magellan equipment here.

My explorist 500 wont turn on any more

Postby sharky » Mon Jul 02, 2007 4:17 am

Hi Guys
Im a newbie to the Explorist I bought one in Canadian Tire last month while on vacation 4 weeks ago. Im now back home in Australia for the past week and have been using it fine with Magellan maps for australia.

All was fin until this morning..my unit wont power on. I have tried to recharge the lithium battey via USD..and my magellan car charger ..no luck. I then removed the lithium battery and placed in the battery clip with 3 brand new batteries and the unit wont power in.

Im a little upset having spend lost of $$ on maps of canada,australia accessories,sd card etc...now my unit is dead.

Hopefully Im doing something wrong...Please help
sharky

Re: My explorist 500 wont turn on any more

Postby Tom » Mon Jul 02, 2007 3:27 pm

Hmmm... I would call Magellan right now and get it exchanged. I don't think that you are doing anything wrong. Turning on a GPSr isn't rocket science. I think it died on you.

Perhaps Magellan support will have some fancy reset procedure that will wake it up.

Sorry to confirm your worst expectations.

--Tom
Tom

Postby Tom » Wed Jul 04, 2007 9:40 am

By the way.... Have you tried holding the power button in for a bit longer?

--Tom
Tom

Postby mrquietguy » Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:37 am

I've had this problem with my Magellan Roadmate. Try removing the batteries for 48 hours to let the unit completely discharge. It worked for me.

Tom M.
mrquietguy

Postby carpeneto07 » Fri Jul 06, 2007 12:28 pm

Hi
Take the time to carefully check the GPS's battery contacts. I managed to bend one of mine and had similar dramas.
Have you tried powering it externally via the "Y" connector?

Cheers
Dave
carpeneto07

Postby sharky » Fri Jul 06, 2007 3:56 pm

Thanks everyone for the advice . So far no luck