Need help selecting a GPS unit

Ask questions here about a specific GPS to meet your needs.

Need help selecting a GPS unit

Postby mike » Fri May 11, 2007 2:36 am

Just to preface I am new to GPS units. I have never owned one and have little experience with them, so I apologize in advance for any obvious questions or misuse of terminology.

Now onto the question at hand. I need help selecting a GPS unit. I am an avid outdoors man. I enjoy backpakcing and back country skiing, so i need a GPS unit that would be able to compliment me in those situations. I also enjoy hunting and biking as well so again a unit that is handy on the go is necessary.

I would also want to occasionally use this in the car. Its primary use here would be for longer road trips, and help navigating areas i am not familar with, not for everyday driving.

Finally my last consideration is I need a GPS unit for my trip to europe (where the majority of the time will be spent walking/public transportation to get around). I am going to be gone 44 days, I am going to be in cities that I am not familar with, and a GPS unit that can help me find my way back to my hostel at the end of the day after wondering a city would be huge. Since I am going to be gone so long i need the ability to store many maps for cities like London, Rome, Prague, Madrid, Munich, Marselle, Florence, Pamplona (and a few others).

I know I am asking for a lot out of a single unit, but i want a unit that would excel in the outdoors and my europe trip (so a GPS unit with quality mapping capibilites is a must). Based on those criteria I have seleced what I think to be the best two units for my circumstances, the

Magellan Meridian Color

or

Garmin etrex Legend C