Page 1 of 1

Shapefiles to Garmin 60csx? HELP

PostPosted: Thu Jul 05, 2007 6:44 pm
by Reflexion
Hi, I just bought a garmin 60csx only because I wanted to add my arcgis maps to it. But now it seems I have a problem since I cannot do so.

I want to add my shapefiles and maps to the gps. Is it possible?

thank you

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 4:47 pm
by ninosat
It is possible but it takes a LOT of work. There are threads in the forum to help. Generally only Garmin maps will work in Garmin units. This is pretty much the case with all GPS devices.

PostPosted: Wed Jul 11, 2007 4:48 pm
by ninosat
There is an application that might help you - see:

http://www.dnr.state.mn.us/mis/gis/tool ... armin.html

PostPosted: Thu Jul 12, 2007 3:51 pm
by Reflexion
Hi,

thanks for your post. Ive take a look at your program, and it is not exactly what I want to do. Because I have many points to import in my gps, I dont want them to be all waypoints, because it will confuse me with my other waypoints.

What I am more looking into is a way to add shapefile in mapsource, so that my shapefiles will be "imbeded" in the map.

I have found a nice tutorial to do this, but I am not able to load a *.img map into mapsource.

heres the link: http://home.cinci.rr.com/creek/garmin.htm

If this can be solved, then I will be very, very happy.

Also, I have tryed the usb mass storage thing, but the map dos not show up in my gps.

PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2007 9:00 pm
by gps
Reflexion wrote:Hi,

thanks for your post. Ive take a look at your program, and it is not exactly what I want to do. Because I have many points to import in my gps, I dont want them to be all waypoints, because it will confuse me with my other waypoints.

What I am more looking into is a way to add shapefile in mapsource, so that my shapefiles will be "imbeded" in the map.

I have found a nice tutorial to do this, but I am not able to load a *.img map into mapsource.

heres the link: http://home.cinci.rr.com/creek/garmin.htm

If this can be solved, then I will be very, very happy.

Also, I have tryed the usb mass storage thing, but the map dos not show up in my gps.



Try my tutorial...it has directions on how to install your map in Mapsource...you can add your shapefiles in GPSMapEdit

http://www.mediafire.com/?duazahxzn2n

PostPosted: Fri Jul 20, 2007 2:35 am
by Reflexion
Thank you!

actually, I just found yesterday how to upload a map on mapsource from mapedit with cgpsmapper and a cmd type, but it overwrited the topo canada map in mapsource.

With your tutorial, Ill be able to make the background transparent.

thank you!